ABMS Adopts New MOC Standards

March 29, 2009 at 5:32 pm Leave a comment

The ABMS has adopted a new set of standards designed to enhance physician qualifications assessed through its Maintenance of Certification® (MOC) program. The new standards outline and set timelines for officially adopting several MOC program elements, including:

* Documentation that physicians are meeting continued medical education (CME) and self-assessment requirements
* Evidence of participation in practice-based assessment and quality improvement every two to five years
* Completion of a patient safety self-assessment program at least once during each MOC cycle .
* Assessment of communication skills as a standard for all physician diplomates with direct patient care – using a Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS) patient survey (or other COMMOC-approved survey), and an approved peer survey.

The national movement toward performance measurement includes evidence of practice changes to improve quality in the practice process or structure of patient care. These standards suggest many opportunities for CME providers to serve our physician constituents by offering a robust PI CME program.


Entry filed under: CME, Continuing Medical Education, Continung Professional Development, Physician Continuing Education, Physician Education, PI CME.

Let’s Not Forget the “Performance” in PI CME Physican Awareness of Commercial Support Regulations in CME

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2009
« Feb   Apr »

Most Recent Posts

%d bloggers like this: