CME Question: “CMEs”? – What are “CMEs”?

January 20, 2010 at 6:00 am Leave a comment

OK. I give up. I have been involved in continuing medical education (CME) for over three decades.  In recent years I have heard many people talk about “CMEs” but I don’t know what “CMEs” are.

Is it  lazy people in continuing medical education creating a code word trying to communicate about the work they are involved in? I hear them say they did some “CMEs” on a topic or did a series of “CMEs”, etc.  So what is it that they did?

I  hear highly educated physicians saying they have to get their “CMEs”. What is it they have to get? Continuing medical education credit? Continuing education on a mandated topic?

“CMEs” communicates nothing at all to me. “CMEs” is not a word. The letters used in this way would suggest to me that it means “continuing medical educations.” And that would mean what?

So help me out. What are “CMEs”. They are nothing. I say using the term “CMEs” communicates poorly among educated people, even shows a bit of ignorance, and should be banned from the lexicon of CME providers and physicians. Help me stamp out “CMEs”.

What do you say?

Entry filed under: CME, Continuing Medical Education, Physician Continuing Education.

CME in the News and on the Blogs January 12, 201o Major Challenges that Confront Medical Education (including CME) over the Next Decade

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


